Support Groups

Age Based Groups

ROOTS & SHOOTS (Birth through Pre-K)
Christy Allen, christyallen1016@gmail.com
Jessica Allen, jessicaleeallen@yahoo.com

RISING STARS (Kindergarten through 4th grade)
Noelle Heaslet, dnicespinner@hotmail.com, 704-589-7589

Soaring Eagles (5th grade through 7th grade)
New Leadership Needed

Teens (8th grade through 11th grade)
New Leaders Coming Soon!

Adults (12th grade and Adults)
Brenden Hammeke, 704-595-3832, BrendanHammeke@gmail.com

Geographic Based Groups

Gaston County
Tammy Burgess, Tammy.V.Burgess@carolinashealthcare.org

Cleveland County
Tasha Haskin, 704-472-8457, thaskinjams@gmail.com
Susan Mellon, 704-692-8576, tigersmt05@aol.com

Stanly County - Friend in Me
Sunnie Rector, rectorsunnie@yahoo.com

T21 North - North Meck, Cabarrus, Rowan, Iredell and points northward
New Leadership Needed

T21 Lincoln County
New Leadership Needed

Specialty Groups

Latino Families

Karen Castillo, karen_castillo_70@yahoo.com, 704-222-6289

African American Families

Jeannette Little, jlittleqcdo@gmail.com
Sybil Gaines, skiracerla@aol.com

D.A.D.S. (Dads Appreciating Down Syndrome)

All Dads welcome, dads@dsa-gc.org

Scott Ingold, f.scott.ingold@gmail.com
Tony Cirone, tonycirone99@gmail.com
Pete Heaslet, p_heaslet@yahoo.com
David Williams, Dwilliams459@gmail.com

  • 10/18/2014 -- 1st Buddy Walk for Down Syndrome Awareness at UNCC ... Read More
  • 03/09/2015 -- Dash for Down Syndrome Helps CMS Serve Students wi ... Read More
  • 03/01/2016 -- March 19 event to include 1,200 participants for 5 ... Read More
  • Down syndrome Charlotte